Childcare Costs in Oregon (2024): What Full-Time Care Really Costs, by Source
This page covers Oregon, using childcare price data from Child Care Aware of America’s “Child Care in America: 2024 Affordability Analysis,” based on CCAoA’s January 2025 survey of state Child Care Resource & Referral networks. The prices shown below are real, current 2024/2025-survey figures broken out by child’s age and type of care, not estimates.
Average annual price of full-time child care in Oregon
| Age group | Center-based care | Family child care (home-based) |
|---|---|---|
| Infant | $19,500 · $1,625/mo | $15,808 · $1,317/mo |
| Toddler | $17,368 · $1,447/mo | $13,832 · $1,153/mo |
| 4-Year-Old | $13,260 · $1,105/mo | $13,728 · $1,144/mo |
| Before/After School | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-Time Summer | Not reported | Not reported |
Oregon’s prices were not asterisked in the source report, meaning they are fresh survey-reported figures from the current CCR&R survey, not backfilled from an older survey. Source: Child Care Aware of America, Tables I & II, “Child Care in America: 2024 Affordability Analysis.” A cell reading “Not reported” means CCAoA did not publish a price for that age group and setting in this state — it is not zero and was not estimated.
What this actually means for a family’s budget
In Oregon, a year of center-based infant care costs $19,500. That is 88.28% more than the annualized cost of rent and 31.25% more than the annualized cost of a mortgage in the state. It also runs 38.02% more than the average cost of a year of in-state public college tuition and fees. For a married-couple household, that $19,500 represents 15.5% of median income; for a single parent, it represents 46.7% of median income.
National context
This is the flat 2023 U.S. national average annual wage for childcare workers (BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, occupation code 39-9011), not a Oregon-specific figure. CCAoA’s report applies this single national number when ranking every state’s childcare-workforce affordability, so it is NOT evidence about Oregon wages specifically. (Source: Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2023 Annual Mean Wage: Childcare Workers, bls.gov/oes/current/oes399011.htm)
What we don’t have for Oregon
This page uses one statewide price for Oregon rather than county-level detail. The U.S. Department of Labor’s National Database of Childcare Prices would show how costs vary by county, and is generally the stronger source for local precision, but it could not be accessed for this page. So the figures here reflect the state as a whole, not any particular county or city.
How we built this page
Every figure above comes from Child Care Aware of America’s published “Child Care in America: 2024 Affordability Analysis” report (Tables I, II, III, XI, and XII), which in turn cites U.S. Census Bureau ACS 2023 data for income and rent/mortgage figures, and BLS 2023 data for the national childcare-worker wage figure. Reused here under CCAoA’s own republishing terms, which require visible citation to Child Care Aware of America and a link to childcareaware.org — both are provided throughout this page.
- Child Care Aware of America, “Child Care in America: 2024 Affordability Analysis”. Prices from CCAoA’s January 2025 survey of Child Care Resource & Referral State Networks.
- U.S. Census Bureau, American Community Survey 2023, Table B19126 (income) and related housing-cost tables.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2023 Annual Mean Wage: Childcare Workers (occupation code 39-9011).
